Court of Swans (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Court of Swans By Melanie Dickerson Cover Image
Email or call for price

Staff Reviews

Order a SIGNED COPY of this brand-new book by Huntsville author Melanie Dickerson! We can have the author personalize your book if you order by December 31. All orders will ship out by release date, January 5. (If you'd like your copy personalized, let us know the name in the comments at checkout.)

And, we will send you a printable card to give as a Christmas gift, with a link to the first 5 chapters.

(International customers: click HERE to contact The Snail directly and place an order.)


Where there is wealth and power, there's always someone willing to do anything to take it. When Delia's father dies, her stepmother accuses her seven brothers of treasonous crimes. Seeking to free them from Richard II's grasp, Delia's only ally is Sir Geoffrey, the man who arrested them. Can she trust him?

England, 1381: Delia's idyllic life as daughter of an earl is shattered when her father dies and his wife accuses Delia's seven brothers of treason and murder. The youngest is only ten years old, but this doesn't stop the guards from hauling them off to the Tower of London. There they await a grim fate, as child-king Richard II is executing anyone who poses a threat to his throne. Delia is their only hope for pardon and freedom.

Sir Geoffrey did not expect his first assignment as captain of the guard to be the arrest of boys so young. He dutifully imprisons the brothers, but he can't ignore the feeling, rooted in personal experience, that injustice and treachery are at work.

Determined to rescue her brothers, Delia secures a position as a seamstress for the queen. Her quest is all but impossible as the executions continue. Sir Geoffrey offers to be her ally, but should she trust him in a court where everyone has an agenda?

From New York Times bestselling author Melanie Dickerson comes a tender retelling of "The Wild Swans," where the virtues of loyalty and love face a harrowing showdown with power and fear.

  • The first installment in a brand-new series set in England: The Dericott Tales
    • Book 1: Court of Swans
    • Book 2: Castle of Refuge
    • Book 3: Veil of Winter
  • Full-length clean fairy-tale reimagining
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs

Product Details
ISBN: 9780785234012
ISBN-10: 0785234012
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Publication Date: January 5th, 2021
Pages: 336
Language: English