Things You Save in a Fire: A Novel (Hardcover)

Things You Save in a Fire: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


From the New York Times bestselling author of How to Walk Away comes a stunning new novel about courage, hope, and learning to love against all odds.

Cassie Hanwell was born for emergencies. As one of the only female firefighters in her Texas firehouse, she's seen her fair share of them, and she's a total pro at other people's tragedies. But when her estranged and ailing mother asks her to give up her whole life and move to Boston, Cassie suddenly has an emergency of her own.

The tough, old-school Boston firehouse is as different from Cassie's old job as it could possibly be. Hazing, a lack of funding, and poor facilities mean that the firemen aren't exactly thrilled to have a "lady" on the crew—even one as competent and smart as Cassie. Except for the infatuation-inspiring rookie, who doesn't seem to mind having Cassie around. But she can't think about that. Because love is girly, and it’s not her thing. And don’t forget the advice her old captain gave her: Never date firefighters. Cassie can feel her resolve slipping...and it means risking it all—the only job she’s ever loved, and the hero she’s worked like hell to become.

Katherine Center's Things You Save in a Fire is a heartfelt and healing tour-de-force about the strength of vulnerability, the nourishing magic of forgiveness, and the life-changing power of defining courage, at last, for yourself.

About the Author


Katherine Center is the author of several novels about love and family: The Bright Side of Disaster, Everyone Is Beautiful, Get Lucky, and The Lost Husband. Her books and essays have appeared in Redbook, People, USA Today, Vanity Fair, and Real Simple—as well as the anthologies Because I Love Her, CRUSH, and My Parents Were Awesome. Katherine is a graduate of Vassar College and the University of Houston's Creative Writing Program. She lives in Houston with her husband and two sweet children.

Praise For…


Praise for Things You Save in a Fire:

One of:
The Washington Post's "The 10 Books to Read in 2019 Based on What You Loved in 2018"
The Hollywood Reporter's "2019 Books to Keep on Your Radar"
She Reads' "Most Anticipated Books of 2019"
Good Housekeeping's "25 Best New Books of Summer 2019"
USA Today's "Must Read Women's Fiction of 2019"
Bookbub's "31 of the Biggest Books Coming Out This Summer"
The Nerd Daily's "Most Anticipated Reads of 2019"
An August 2019 LibraryReads Pick!

"Oh, how I love Katherine Center’s writing…and her newest novel is a gem...a story that reminds us that the word emergency has, at its heart, a new beginning. Just read it, and thank me later.” —Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of A Spark of Light and Small Great Things

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.”Kirkus, starred review

"A compelling love story, a tearjerking twist, and a thoroughly absorbing story. Another winner from Center."Booklist, starred review

"An emotionally resonant and deeply satisfying love story...a moving testament to the power of forgiveness." —BookPage

"I don’t even know how to explain how much I adored this book...This is a story of love, of family, and of learning how to be vulnerable—and trust me, Cassie’s life journey is one you don’t want to miss.” —Siobhan Jones, Book of the Month Club

Praise for How to Walk Away:

"A marvelous example of acceptance and healing and a celebration of family."USA Today

"Center explores the limits of hope and love...[she] transforms the story of a family tragedy into a heartfelt guide to living the fullest life possible." —Publisher's Weekly

"With its appealing characters and wisdom about grappling with life’s challenges, Center’s sixth novel has all the makings of a breakout hit." —Booklist (starred review)

"A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg." —Kirkus

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250047328
ISBN-10: 1250047323
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: August 13th, 2019
Pages: 320

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.