Crooked in His Ways: A Lightner and Law Mystery (Hardcover)

Crooked in His Ways: A Lightner and Law Mystery Cover Image
$27.99
Ready for delivery or usually ships in 3-5 days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A LIGHTNER AND LAW MYSTERY series.

Description


Perfect for fans of C. S. Harris and Will Thomas, the murder of a wealthy financier unleashes a torrent of deadly secrets in pre-Civil War New York society in S. M. Goodwin's second book in the Lightner and Law mysteries.

Albert Beauchamp disappeared just before Christmas in 1856. When he reappears more than a year later, he's in several pieces, packed in salt in a shipping crate in New Orleans. NYC inspectors Jasper Lightner and his partner, Hieronymus Law, are called in to investigate--but the further they dig into the wealthy financier's background, the dirtier the story gets. On the surface, Beauchamp had a lot of friends. But, as they discover, each had a good reason to hate him.

Beauchamp's last will and testament--stashed away in a safety deposit box, along with a king's ransom in jewels--yields few clues, but Jasper and Hy discover something even more valuable: a little black book filled with names, dates, and a cache of damning details.

Following a trail of leads that reaches back to the early 1840s, the detectives uncover a sordid litany of high society scandals that still threatens the city's moneyed establishment. And the shadowy figure who knows their dirtiest secrets re-emerges with a devious new plan that goes far beyond simple blackmail.

The dark shadows grow longer as Jasper and Hy close in on the truth--and a killer lies in wait for his ultimate prey.

About the Author


S. M. Goodwin has worked as a bartender, college history professor, and criminal prosecutor. S.M. currently lives at 8,000 feet elevation in the Sangre de Cristo Mountains with a whole bunch of dogs, chickens, geese, ducks, and other critters.

Praise For…


Praise for Crooked His Ways:
“A tantalizing mystery . . . Goodwin’s pace befits the period.”
—Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Absence of Mercy:

“A hero you'll root for from the very first page!”
—Deanna Raybourn, New York Times bestselling author of the Veronica Speedwell mysteries

"With captivating characters, luscious writing and intrigue around every corner, S.M. Goodwin's debut historical mystery is destined to be among the most talked about of the year. Rich. Resonant. Enigmatic. Just a fantastic, fantastic read!" 
—Darynda Jones, New York Times bestselling author of the Charley Davidson series

"A historical mystery tour-de-force."
—Sherry Thomas, USA Today bestselling author of the Lady Sherlock mysteries

“A stellar debut with a fascinating hero, an atmospheric setting, and riveting plot. If you enjoy Anne Perry’s books, you’ll love S.M. Goodwin’s Absence of Mercy.”
—Vanessa Kelly, USA Today bestselling author

“A captivating sleuth, a diabolical plot, and a vivid sense of place and time.”
—Dianne Freeman, award-winning author of the Countess of Harleigh mystery series

“Well-drawn characters and a gruesome plot make this a series debut that will appeal to hardened mystery fans.”
—Tessa Harris, award-winning author of the Dr. Thomas Silkstone mysteries
 
"A fabulous launch to what is sure to be a long-running series!" 
—Edwin Hill, Edgar and Agatha Award-nominated author of Watch Her
 
“S.M. Goodwin knows how to make history come alive on pages that you just want to keep turning!”
—Carol Potenza, award-winning author of Hearts of the Missing

“Goodwin’s series kickoff offers a colorful, panoramic view of old New York and introduces a provocative sleuthing team.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Fans of gritty historicals will be eager for more.”
—Publishers Weekly

“An ingeniously clued and perfectly executed plot...a must-read noir historical mystery.”
Booklist

“This fantastic detective novel has plenty of twists and turns...Eagerly awaiting the next in the series.”
—Midwest Book Review

"An intricately plotted and smartly conceived mystery... Readers will eagerly await the return of Jasper and Hy Law." 
—Historical Novel Society


Product Details
ISBN: 9781643857442
ISBN-10: 1643857444
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: September 7th, 2021
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: A LIGHTNER AND LAW MYSTERY