Snail Book Club: The Girls in the Stilt House, with author Kelly Mustian

Join us for our first-ever Snail Book Club meeting! Our book is The Girls in the Stilt House, and we'll be joined by author Kelly Mustian.

Our book is a southern novel we know you'll love and want to learn more about: The Girls in the Stilt House, a debut by Kelly Mustian. Kelly will join us for the first 30 minutes of our online meeting, to give us some history of Mississippi's Natchez Trace and the inspiration for her story. Then we'll continue the discussion on our own. This Book Club meeting will be virtual, via Zoom. Registration is required, so we can send you the secure link to log on. You can register for free, or, if you choose to pay $5, we'll apply $5 credit toward your purchase of a book.

Please tell your book club friends, near and far, because we'd love to have lots of readers at our first Snail Book Club!

About The Girls in the Stilt House:
Set in 1920s Mississippi, this debut Southern novel weaves a beautiful and harrowing story of two teenage girls cast in an unlikely partnership through murder--perfect for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing and If the Creek Don't Rise.

Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her hard life on the swamp and her harsh father. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father. Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she's holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see in Ohio. As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.

About Kelly Mustian:
Kelly Mustian grew up in Natchez, Mississippi, the southern terminus of the historic Natchez Trace. Her work has appeared in numerous literary journals and commercial magazines, and her short fiction has won a Blumenthal Writers and Readers Series Award. She is a past recipient of a Regional Artist Grant from the North Carolina Arts and Science Council. Kelly currently lives with her family near the foothills of North Carolina. 

Event date: 

Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 6:30pm

Event address: 

Online
The Girls in the Stilt House Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781728245751
Availability: Ready for delivery or usually ships in 3-5 days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - April 6th, 2021