Mother's Day Book Bundle 2021

$60.00

The Mother's Day Book Bundle includes three new releases we're sure she'll love: a southern mystery set along Mississippi's historic Natchez Trace; a family drama about parents and siblings and the ties that bind them; and a light, modern novel about a mom and her two daughters, based on Jane Austen's Sense and Sensibility. They are perfect reading for all kinds of moms. Read below for details on the books.

Want a custom bundle instead? E-mail us HERE.

The Girls in the Stilt House, by Kelly Mustian (hardcover)
Set in 1920s Mississippi, this debut Southern novel weaves a beautiful and harrowing story of two teenage girls cast in an unlikely partnership through murder—perfect for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing. Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her hard life on the swamp and her harsh father. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father. Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she's holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see in Ohio. As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.

The Most Fun We Ever Had, by Claire Lombardo (paperback)
This novel is based on a love story: Marilyn Connolly and David Sorenson fall in love in the 1970s, blithely ignorant of all that awaits them. By 2016, they have four radically different daughters, each in a state of discovery and unrest. Wendy, widowed young, soothes herself with booze and younger men; Violet, a litigator turned stay-at-home-mom, battles self-doubt; Liza, a newly tenured professor, finds herself pregnant with a baby she's not sure she wants by a man she's not sure she loves; and Grace, the dawdling youngest daughter, begins living a lie that no one in her family even suspects. With the unexpected arrival of young Jonah Bendt—a child placed for adoption by one of the daughters 15 years before—the Sorensons will be forced to reckon with the rich and varied tapestry of their past. As they grapple with years marred by adolescent angst, infidelity, and resentment, they also find the transcendent moments of joy that make everything else worthwhile. This is a complex family saga that is ultimately about our faith in love.

Ladies of the House, by Lauren Edmondson (paperback)
Set in high-society Georgetown, and following the arc of Jane Austen's Sense and Sensibility, this is an irresistible family drama about two sisters, their widowed mother, and the public scandal that just may lead them all to rewrite the rules together.  When it's revealed in dramatic fashion that 34-year-old Daisy Richardson's esteemed father had been involved in a scandal before his untimely death, Daisy's life becomes complicated—and fast. For one, the Richardsons must now sell the family home in Georgetown they can no longer afford, and Daisy's mother is holding on with an iron grip. Her younger sister, Wallis, is ready to move on to bigger and better things but falls fast and hard for the most inconvenient person possible. And then there's Atlas, Daisy's best friend. She's always wished they could be more, but now he's writing an expos on the one subject she's been desperate to avoid: her father. Daisy's plan is to maintain a low profile as she works to keep her family intact amid social exile, public shaming, and quickly dwindling savings. But the spotlight always seems to find the Richardsons, and when another twist in the scandal comes to light, Daisy must confront the consequences of her continued silence and summon the courage to stand up and accept the power of her own voice.